Board of Trustees

Paulo Abrão, Vice Chair

Executive Secretary, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights; President, Amnesty Commission

Ruth J. Abram, Member Emerita

Founding Director, Lower East Side Tenement Museum; Founder, Behold! New Lebanon

Rosa Cruz e Silva

Minister of Culture, Republic of Angola

Alissandra Cummins

Director, Barbados Museum & Historical Society

Doudou Diène, Chair

Former United Nations Independent Expert on the Situation of Human Rights in Côte d’Ivoire

Jean-Louis Luxen, Treasurer

Professor Emeritus, Catholic University of Louvain

W. Richard West, Secretary

President and Ceo, Autry National Center of The American West

Ambassadors Circle

Distinguished leaders from the fields of heritage, human rights, and international affairs form the Coalition’s Ambassadors Circle to help extend our reach and reputation as a unique tool for promoting democracy and human rights.

Judy Barsalou

Former Ford Foundation Regional Representative for the Middle East and North Africa

Susan Berresford

New York Community Trust

Suzette Brooks Masters

Immigrant Integration Expert and Consultant

Lonnie Bunch

Director, National Museum of African American History and Culture

Amareswar Galla, Ph.D.

Executive Director, International Institute for the Inclusive Museum

David Goldfield, Ph.D.

Robert Lee Bailey Professor of History, University of North Carolina

Philip Heylen

Business Development Manager, Ackermans & Van Haaren

Riva Kantowitz

International Development Expert

Martin Kaplan

Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP

Emlyn Koster

Director, North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences

Federico Mayor Zaragoza

Chairman, Fundación Cultura de Paz

Bruce Rabb

Legal Counsel, International Coalition of Sites of Conscience

Leigh Rix

Director, Property and Land, Clinton Devon Estates

Gunnar Stålsett

Bishop Emeritus, Norway

Patricia Tappatá de Valdez

Founding Director, Memoria Abierta